Author Topic: Best Pizza Stone to buy?  (Read 18598 times)

Offline elbandjen

Best Pizza Stone to buy?
« on: February 18, 2009, 02:26:38 AM »
I am VERY new to making pizza (havent even made my first pizza yet) so I was wondering, in your opinion what is the best pizza stone to buy or one that you recommend? Also, im thinking I will test my first pizza this weekend, so might not have time to go out and buy one(and where can i buy one at) so if i dont get one by the weekend, will a pizza stone really make a difference?Thanks.

Offline dzpiez

Re: Best Pizza Stone to buy?
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2009, 03:38:29 AM »
You can check out FibraMent-D stones, http://www.bakingstone.com/order.php  They are good at high heat.

Online Matthew

« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2009, 07:59:35 AM »
I am VERY new to making pizza (havent even made my first pizza yet) so I was wondering, in your opinion what is the best pizza stone to buy or one that you recommend? Also, im thinking I will test my first pizza this weekend, so might not have time to go out and buy one(and where can i buy one at) so if i dont get one by the weekend, will a pizza stone really make a difference?Thanks.

Depending on the type of pizza that your making it could make the world of difference.  I use both a Fibrament-D & a corderite kiln shelf.  Stay away from the cheap stones, they crack very easily.

Offline Fingerstyle

« Reply #3 on: February 18, 2009, 10:56:47 AM »
I've never had a firebrick crack from normal use.  "Splits" (half fire brick) are a high-performance, inexpensive pizza baking stone option yet often overlooked.
"... I say we ride some gravity." - Patrick Rizzo http://vimeo.com/1654340

Offline PizzaEater

• I Love Pizza!
« Reply #4 on: February 20, 2009, 06:10:49 PM »