Author Topic: high hydration, salt levels and dop tomatoes  (Read 4067 times)

Offline artigiano

high hydration, salt levels and dop tomatoes
« on: July 26, 2009, 10:30:49 PM »
        I find my pizzas turn out better keeping the hydration closer to the 60 percent range using Caputo in a woodfired oven at around 900 degrees. I cant figure out why the high hydration is so worth it and why it is often recommended here??  I always find the pizza to be heavier and more dense when I go up to 65% and not as light, soft and crisp as I prefer.

I also don't think that using salt as  something to control your rise time makes sense as your pizza would be saltier or more bland than you would prefer.  I am a home baker but just wondering why lowering salt levels would be used to compensate for the quicker rise in the summer due to the temperature.  Why not just change the amount of time the dough rises for?

Another quick mention is the stress on DOP tomatoes.  I have tried the Strianese and also Italissima D.O.P available in Canada and they are good, howevor, for a great pizza I prefer a brand called San Remo.. they are just as sweet, if not sweeter and they are a little thicker so there isnt any excess moisture on the pizza.  I know I am starting to sound opinionated and maybe a little to bold sounding but I sometimes think that a lot of us are trying to conform a little too much to what is the standard for a perfect pie.