Author Topic: Crust without special tools?  (Read 3291 times)

Julie

Crust without special tools?
« on: January 14, 2005, 03:11:46 PM »
Hi Everybody,

I'm dying to make my own thin crust pizza but I noticed a lot of recipes require special dough hooks, pizza stones, etc.  Unfortunately, I'm on a fixed budget (which is pretty much why I make my own pizza, lol) and wanted to know, are there alternatives to these fancy, new fangled objects?

Thanks so much and sorry if it's a stupid question.  I'm just a newbie {{{smiles sheepishly}}}

Offline Pete-zza

• Lifetime Member
  • Global Moderator
  • Always learning
Re: Crust without special tools?
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2005, 04:05:05 PM »
Julie,

Your question is a good one. Not everyone has all the fancy equipment that experienced home pizza makers usually end up accumulating with time. Most of us started simply and worked our way up as we gained experience and had more money to devote to the hobby. I believe it was Confucius who said that "A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step."

Without equipment, like a stand mixer, food processor or even a bread machine, you are pretty much relegated to hand kneading. All-purpose and bread flours can be kneaded that way but it gets harder to do with high-gluten flours, which you are unlikely to find in any event in the food stores where you regularly shop. With a suitable dough recipe, you should be able to make a NY style pizza with a thin crust using a good bread flour. The best bread flour from my experience is the King Arthur brand. It is sold in some supermarkets and specialty food stores, but if you can't find it where you shop there are other brands, like Pillsbury and Gold Medal, that should work for your purposes and budget.