Author Topic: hello from the blind meat cutter  (Read 1032 times)

Offline the blind meat cutter

hello from the blind meat cutter
« on: September 22, 2009, 11:05:53 AM »
Hi to all. I am Steve Gomes, a blind person who grew up in Massapequa Long Island and I could eat pizza everyday. One of my hobbies is to cook all kinds of food. I have been making pizza for about 30 years now. Most of the time on a pan. I have been working with a stone for a few years and have a 15 1/2 inch stone from fiberment. And a 15 inch aluminum peal. I refuse to use parchment paper and some times I can't get the pie to slide off the peal and make a mess. I really want to make a nice light pizza that I can fold and pick up and eat it. You know what I mean. I hope I posted this in the right place. My computer has screen reading software that speaks what is on the screen. So teach me all things. I am gona go through all these topics and see what I can learn.
« Last Edit: September 22, 2009, 11:12:53 AM by the blind meat cutter »

Offline ThunderStik

Re: hello from the blind meat cutter
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2009, 11:29:00 AM »
First off BMC i give you props for not letting your lack of vision get in the way of your passion for pizza.

Below is a link to a thread you will find very helpful in your quest for a good New York style pie. Its a long read but is full of information.

http://www.pizzamaking.com/forum/index.php/topic,576.msg5303.html#msg5303
I KNOW MORE ABOUT PIZZA THAN ANYBODY!!!!!!!

(in my house)

« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2009, 11:41:56 AM »
I am on it right now. I am gona learn how to do it. It took me 30 years to make good bagels but now I make them. The newis thing I am into is Charcuterie. The craft of dry curing meats. And I brewed my own all grain beer out on the deck for 11 years. Now I am too old so I make wine instead. You buy these kits and they are good. thanks for checkin in and I am going to that thread you sent me to.

Offline Pete-zza

• Lifetime Member