Author Topic: My first post after lurking for two years... and a female no less!  (Read 4104 times)

Offline VancityAllie

Hello everyone!

It's been two years now that I have been reading these forums... lurking in the shadows! You guys are my heroes! I have marveled at the photos of different dough, techniques, starters, and all the experiments you all have been conducting for many years.

I've also noticed these forums are very male heavy! So hopefully no one minds that I am asking for advice!  :-[

I am no pizza expert... I've been making "home pizzas" for a while now, but more along the lines of what you would see on Martha Stewart or Epicurious. I think it is time to get serious!

I have read many of the "main" threads for beginner's and newbies, and read many posts by those like Pete, varasano, artigiano, pizzanapoletana...

Here's the problem though. I'm not quite ready to dive into the craziness that is starters, etc. So I was hoping you could help me start by making as authentic as possible a Neapolitan-style pizza dough (in my eyes, slightly crispy crust on the outside, bubbles on the inside of the dough and slightly chewy) with the ingredients I have access to in a home oven. I am planning on using the recipe on Forno Bravo's site but need a little help with adjustments:

• I have a convection oven that can go to 550 degrees F and a pizza stone.
  • I cannot seem to find Caputo flour anywhere in Vancouver so I am using Divella Farina Tipo '00' Pizza Flour.
  • I would like to use fresh yeast.
  • I would like to do an overnight refrigeration method rather than a room temperature rise.

Can anyone help me modify this recipe (fornobravo.com/pizza/pizza_dough.html) with the above constraints? Please help! It would mean so much to me looking to get into pizza making.

It would be SO helpful. And! I PROMISE promise promise I will post photos as soon as I make the pizza :)