Author Topic: Salt Question  (Read 1320 times)

Offline wordsandwich

Salt Question
« on: September 26, 2009, 09:40:36 AM »
Hi All,

this is my first post on this message board but I have been a voyeur for a while, and i have gotten a ton of great information. I have been making pizza with my mom since I was a little kid, and as an adult i have been making my own pizza dough for about 4-5 years now.

My question is in regards to salt in dough. I have seen a few posts that say salt does effect the rise, and then others that say it only effects the taste. which one is true?

there is a reason for this question: I made a dough on thursday that is almost 48 hours into rise (in the fridge obviously) and I forgot to add salt. Everything looks good but I am wondering if I should scrap the dough and make a same day recipe.

thoughts??

Offline Pete-zza

• Lifetime Member
  • Global Moderator
  • Always learning
Re: Salt Question
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2009, 10:17:16 AM »
My question is in regards to salt in dough. I have seen a few posts that say salt does effect the rise, and then others that say it only effects the taste. which one is true?

wordsandwich,

It is both, plus a few more things, as you will see from the King Arthur piece on salt at http://www.kingarthurflour.com/professional/salt.html. It may be too late now to try to incorporate the salt but I have read of people who try to work some salt into the dough after it has been formed into a skin. See, for example, http://www.thefreshloaf.com/node/3948/oops-forgot-salt.

Peter
« Last Edit: October 07, 2012, 12:18:56 PM by Pete-zza »

Offline wordsandwich

« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2009, 11:48:26 AM »