Author Topic: Deep Dish Smoked Salmon pizza?  (Read 2407 times)

Offline DeepDish 622

Deep Dish Smoked Salmon pizza?
« on: September 17, 2009, 11:04:24 PM »
I'm interested in making a deep dish pizza with smoked salmon, capers, onions, fresh dill, and either cream cheese or neufchatel cheese.  I've never used these ingredients before, but like to try new things at least once.  Is it feasible to use these indegredients, or would the cheese melt too easily?

Assuming the cheese doesn't melt too much, what temperature should I set the oven, and how long should it be baked?  If neither of these cheeses is suitable for baking in a pizza, is there another cheese that would be suitable for these ingredients?

:chef:

Offline November

• Come for the food. Stay for the science.
    • Uncle Salmon
Re: Deep Dish Smoked Salmon pizza?
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2009, 12:33:45 AM »
Not only would it be feasible, that grouping of ingredients is a good one.  What you have chosen sounds like a take on breakfast pizza, as lox (smoked salmon), capers, bagels, and cream cheese is a common breakfast combination.  I have found that cream cheese makes an excellent pizza sauce when "smoked" or combined with a smoked meat.  One idea out of many can be seen bellow.  Use salmon and capers instead of scrambled egg and bacon; add dill and minced onion to the sauce; use just mozzarella instead of cheddar (or skip this kind of cheese entirely); and perhaps skip the butter while using milk to thin it out instead of water.  Of course try whatever you want.  I think you have hit upon a good idea for a pizza.

http://www.pizzamaking.com/forum/index.php/topic,637.msg58255.html#msg58255

- red.november
« Last Edit: September 18, 2009, 12:36:20 AM by November »

Offline sourdough girl

• First the bread, NOW the pizza dough!
« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2009, 04:16:03 PM »
Not only would it be feasible, that grouping of ingredients is a good one.  I think you have hit upon a good idea for a pizza.