Author Topic: My newest dough  (Read 1726 times)

Offline gijoe985

My newest dough
« on: October 10, 2009, 01:56:33 PM »
Hey all,

I'm going to be making 4 pizzas tonight. Two slightly different doughs. They were basically Lehmann dough to start, but I've been playing around. I wanted to put my routine and baking percentages down so I could get some critiquing. I had some decent ad some failed attempts in the past, but my current recipe looks alright.

Here are my %'s-

Flour           100%           575g   
Water     63%           362g   
Oil           1.0%           5.75     1.28 tspn
Salt           2.0%           11.50   2.39 tspn
IDY           .60%           3.45     1.14 tspn

I made two balls from this and two balls at .4% IDY. The Lehmann dough calculator put me at 551g of flour for a 15" pizza, but I upped it to 575 to try today for a larger rim. This is my first time increasing the dough from 551.

I am currently using=

*Flour- Pendleton High Gluten Flour I recently switched from KA BF. (I cannot do a link since I'm new, but go to Pendleton Flour Mills to read up. I use the unbleached, "power" high gluten, they say 13.5% protein, which is less than their whole wheat which is 14%... Maybe I should try whole wheat...They also have a "big spring" which is 14.5%, but I didn't see it at the Cash n Carry)
*Tap water (I need to get bottled, but haven't... Edit: Thought I'd mention that for those who don't know WA state has some really good tasting tap water, in fact I prefer it to bottled for drinking purposed, it's all glacier fed...)
*I used extra virgin olive oil, even though the Lehmann calc suggested against, with good results last time. I'd love to know why not... This is another change for the future.
*Morton Kosher Salt
*fleischmann bread machine yeast from Fred Meyer (Kroger) Should be an IDY, I believe. I hope to get IDY from Sams Club sooner of later.

My routine-