Author Topic: MARBLE DOUGH "WORKING" SURFACE  (Read 1349 times)

Offline SmokinGuitarPlayer

• Owner of www.fredsmusicandbbq.com
    • Fred's Music & BBQ Supply
MARBLE DOUGH "WORKING" SURFACE
« on: November 30, 2009, 09:38:13 AM »
I am contemplating buying a slab of marble to use as a work surface for stretching my dough balls etc. Can anyone tell me if thickness matters?
Guitar player, dealer and collector. Owner and operator of www.fredsmusicandbbq.com. Seller of barbecue grills and smokers, specializing on the Big Green Egg ceramic grill and all related barbecue cooking supplies...and Wood Fired Ovens and pizza making supplies.

Offline norma427

• Lifetime Member
  • Global Moderator
    • learningknowledgetomakepizza
Re: MARBLE DOUGH "WORKING" SURFACE
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2009, 09:43:31 AM »
Fred,
I am not an expert on this, but I have a marble slab that I used that isn't that thick. I am guessing about 3/4" thick.  I can measure it for you if you want me to.  It works really great in putting your dough on to cut it and also to open your dough balls.  The dough slides around well when opening your dough.
See what answers you get from other members.
Norma
Always working and looking for new information!

Offline SmokinGuitarPlayer

• Owner of www.fredsmusicandbbq.com
    • Fred's Music & BBQ Supply
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2009, 09:48:55 AM »
Hey Norma, thanks for the info ... do you use it to actually cut the finished pies ..into slices?  with a cutting wheel tool thing?
FB
Guitar player, dealer and collector. Owner and operator of www.fredsmusicandbbq.com. Seller of barbecue grills and smokers, specializing on the Big Green Egg ceramic grill and all related barbecue cooking supplies...and Wood Fired Ovens and pizza making supplies.

Offline norma427

• Lifetime Member
  • Global Moderator
« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2009, 10:16:48 AM »
Fred,