Author Topic: Dough Usage ::: restaurant VS home  (Read 1720 times)

Offline snowdy

• i pledge allegiance to the pizza
    • Dataheadz Design
Dough Usage ::: restaurant VS home
« on: March 01, 2005, 04:14:40 AM »
As someone who eventually wants to open a pizza joint (and this is years off since im a total freakin novice) ..... i am wondering if anyone can explain the difference in dough handling in a restaurant versus at home.

at home we mix, refridgerate overnight (24 hours usually), then break out the dough for a few hours and shape.

but in a restaurant, how does the process work? Do most use the 24 hour method? i see some famous places like Di Fara that don't do that. How do they make same day dough? Do they make it in the morning, keep it at room temperature all day? refridgerate at all?

If you had a pizza joint, made a ton of dough one day, refridgerated for 24 hours, then broke out all the dough balls... how would you store it for use throughout the day?

When you order a pizza at a restaurant, where do they take the dough from? Do they have a bunch of balls ready to go at room temperature some place? or do they shape from cooled balls?

I just dont have any understanding on how the process would work... if you were a restaurant with 30 orders an hour... where would you store the dough balls? Where do they pull them from?

any input on this issue is appreciated :D

Offline canadianbacon

• DoughBoy
Re: Dough Usage ::: restaurant VS home
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2005, 08:49:56 AM »
Very good question Snowdy.

I don't know the answer, but I'll add this,