Author Topic: First Cracker Attempt - Thanks for the Great Forum!  (Read 3227 times)

Offline maetz

First Cracker Attempt - Thanks for the Great Forum!
« on: January 02, 2010, 10:12:34 PM »
Just wanted to drop a post and thank everyone who has contributed to this forum.  I've longed for quite some time to make a cracker crust pizza at home, but have previously failed at my own attempts.  My previous attempts have revolved around a pizza stone and a higher hydration dough.  I was a complete amateur, not allowing my dough long enough to develop, let alone even rise.  I hadn't tried in quite some time and then a few weeks ago I came across this forum and it gave me a new inspiration to try again, using the low hydration dough's that have been discussed.  I want to specifically thank Pete-zza as your posts have been incredibly informative and I have specifically followed your modified DKM recipe at Reply #16 at a topic it won't allow me to link to :(

In preparation, I purchased two pre-seasoned 15" cutter pans from pizzatools.com.  This company seems really nice.  I spoke to them via email about shipping and they were very helpful.

I also purchased a kitchen scale, the My Weigh KD-7000 from Amazon.com for $37.48.  I've never owned a kitchen scale, but so far this seems to work great.

I haven't ordered a dough docker, I'll see how my attempts at the recipe go.  If all goes well, maybe I'll pick up a dough docker from pizzatools.com, in general, dockers seem kinda of pricey at $35.  If anyone has any recommendations in this area, I'm open to it.

Following the bakers percentages from the above mentioned modified DKM recipe, yielding two 16" dough balls at .06 thickness factor resulted in the following weights per dough ball:

Flour (100%):
Water (36%):
IDY (1%):
Salt (1.75%):
Oil (3.5%):
Sugar (1.2%):
Total (143.45%):
238.42 g  |  8.41 oz | 0.53 lbs
85.83 g  |  3.03 oz | 0.19 lbs
2.38 g | 0.08 oz | 0.01 lbs | 0.79 tsp | 0.26 tbsp