Author Topic: Can anyone help this poor Moron out?  (Read 3704 times)

Offline wizziebaldwin

Can anyone help this poor Moron out?
« on: January 05, 2010, 03:45:48 PM »
Hi all,

Yes, if you are wondering, the Moron is me.

For some reason (and it may be for lack of O2 in the brain) I can't make a decent N.Y. Style Pizza dough. I've been cooking for more than 50 years. I can make fruit/pudding pie crusts, Turkey's that are so moist you'd swear that they are under cooked, even when the temp is 10 degrees higher than the recommend level, cakes, smoked meats, meat balls ... all sorts of things. But, an excellent pizza dough still eludes me. That wonderful, bubbly, pillowy, stretchy dough just seems to be out of reach.

I grew up in Bloomfield, NJ with my Mom and stayed part time with my Dad in West Orange and was in the City almost every Friday. Then, in my 20's I moved to the barren Mid West; I lived out West and now I am out of country.

It's not like I have not tried about 20 recipes and watched about 30 videos and many other things.

In the end I wind up with something that is a closer to a Saltine Cracker than a good dough.

I found this site recently, so now I am going to ask the professionals.

What I am looking for is a step by step (for dummies) approach to making this dough.

I have a scale and I can weigh things in grams or ounces. I understand the principle behind baker percentages method where flour is 100% (I did say principle, I have no practical experience with it). I know that the word hydration means, I just don't know what effect more or less liquid has on the finished product. I understand the physical technique of kneading dough. I don't have a practical experience (the feel) that tells me when to stop. Can dough be over kneaded?

I have several handicaps.
1) The only electrical "gadget" I have is a 25 year old Sunbeam Le Chef Food processor with a well used blade.
2) I do not live in the USA anymore. This hampers my ability to get many ingredients.