Author Topic: What is your opinion of this sicilian pizza? Go against all the rules?  (Read 519 times)

Offline pythonic

• Pizza......its what's for dinner!
Parbake dough and cheese first?  If only shredded cheese available this may be the way to go because saucing over raw shredded cheese is a pain.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0GRPOC3e1Tc&feature=youtube_gdata
If you can dodge a wrench you can dodge a ball.

Offline JD

• Supporting Member
I feel like the definition Sicillian" is thrown around incorrectly on these boards, but I'm no expert so I cannot back that up with anything other than what I grew up eating.

To me, true NY Sicillian is minimum 1.5" high with a random hole structure, relatively soft bottom,  and has peaks and valleys on top. This is made by proofing dough in a seasoned square pan, adding sauce after proofing and baking without cheese for 15-20 minutes. Then you add cheese and finish baking.

I haven't seen much from Scott on sicillian pizza, but I'd like to hear his opinion (if he has one) or anyone else who would know better than I.

Josh

Offline pythonic

• Pizza......its what's for dinner!
I feel like the definition Sicillian" is thrown around incorrectly on these boards, but I'm no expert so I cannot back that up with anything other than what I grew up eating.

To me, true NY Sicillian is minimum 1.5" high with a random hole structure, relatively soft bottom,  and has peaks and valleys on top. This is made by proofing dough in a seasoned square pan, adding sauce after proofing and baking without cheese for 15-20 minutes. Then you add cheese and finish baking.

I haven't seen much from Scott on sicillian pizza, but I'd like to hear his opinion (if he has one) or anyone else who would know better than I.

I've even heard that traditional sicilian is made by par baking the crust first, then the sauce then the cheese.  Ever heard that?

Nate
If you can dodge a wrench you can dodge a ball.

Offline scott123