A D V E R T I S E M E N T

Author Topic: Question about mushrooms?  (Read 214 times)

Offline kuhne

• I Love Pizza!
Question about mushrooms?
« on: April 05, 2017, 11:42:29 PM »
I am not very good at this so this question might seem a bit too stupid or simple for you guys but here goes.

I have been baking at very high temps lately, my cordierite stone is at over 800 while the ceiling is close to 1000 and I am getting used to doming real quick and cooking the toppings all in about 1 minute 30 seconds or so. It seems that whenever I use most ingredients I get decent crust, decent pepperoni, etc. But whenever I use mushrooms it seems like they are not being cooked right.

Does this happen to some of you? Do mushrooms need to be cooked a bit longer? Do you bake for longer or dome for longer if you are using mushrooms or an ingredient that simply takes longer?

Seems like my pepperoni pizza is spot on as far as mi timing goes but last time I tried mushrooms they tasted a little ... off.

Offline HBolte

• Lifetime Member
    • 500px
Re: Question about mushrooms?
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2017, 11:47:59 PM »
I sauté mushrooms before using them on pizza. I don't like all the moisture that they give off.
Hans

Offline foreplease

• Supporting Member
« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2017, 12:06:36 AM »
I sauté first too and finish in Marsala because we like the taste. We are home oven 550° max cooks here.

Craig is an expert on this. Betting he will say slice thinner or ask about that.
-Tony
I find it easier to imagine a diet of nothing but ice cream than one without ice cream

Offline kuhne

• I Love Pizza!
« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2017, 01:06:11 AM »
putting them on the stove first for a little bit does make a lot of sense, its either that or doming for longer it seems.

Thanks guys.

Offline bigMoose

• Kneading is Happiness!
« Reply #4 on: April 07, 2017, 07:48:34 AM »