A D V E R T I S E M E N T

Recent Posts

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 20
I don't own a gas oven, but a wood oven 56 * 62cm (https://www.pizzamaking.com/forum/index.php?topic=68077.0). I am still learning how much how to use it. It's hard to control the temp, starting the fire. To find the wood is another hard question, what I buy from the shop is too big to burn. I bought an axe to cut. I am a newbie to cut wood, one 25-30cm diameter wood needs more than 50 swings. I almost give up. Every time after cooking, I need to vacuum all the ash. I tempt to DIY a gas burner.

Might try a maul or a kindling cracker if having trouble processing wood. I get seasoned apple wood straight from local orchards in my area. They have a special wood pile for pizza oven wood (less than 3 inch diameter) and I use a maul to chop it into smaller pieces.

I consider the chopping as exercise but can see why others might get annoyed. Much cheaper than buying kiln-dried and packaged wood from the stores however.
Chicago Style / Re: Newbie Deep Dish and the "C" word
« Last post by Garvey on Today at 10:18:19 PM »
same-day dough being too unpredictable

I first experienced this (the unpredictability) when I was working on thin crust.  I always had to keep a long, two-pronged fork handy and poke the dough bubbles halfway through the bake.  Warm fermented doughs required too much fuss.  My goals are predictable replicability and efficiency (i.e., remove any extra steps).  To achieve the latter, I usually A/B test something and see if there is any difference, and if there is, then I have to decide whether the ROI is there to do something the longer/more complicated way.
Detroit Style / Re: Detroit Style
« Last post by Jon in Albany on Today at 10:10:59 PM »
Well, thank you all for everything that you do for the forum.

Big thanks. I'm pretty sure I would have gone nuts (or even nuttier) without being able to check in on the forum constantly.
Cookbook Reviews / Re: The Pizza Bible