A D V E R T I S E M E N T

Author Topic: Sourdough Pizza - Very soft, full of bubbles on the surface  (Read 555 times)

Offline luckydutch

• I Love Pizza!
This is my first time attempting to bake with a sourdough and it's a starter that I grew myself but it hasn't gone as expected.

I mixed the starter into the dough, left it for 30 minutes, knead it for about 10 minutes then left again for another 15-20 minutes. At that point already, noticeable bubbles had formed in the dough. I did a series of stretch and folds in 30 minute intervals for the next 2 hours then allowed it to bulk ferment for about 15 hours in the fridge.

After the bulk ferment the dough is EXTREMELY soft and delicate as well as full of big bubbles. It never rose upwards but rather outwards and when I shaped the two balls and did 2-3 pulls to tighten them, you can see the huge bubbles that formed in the pictures below.

https://imgur.com/a/2mipMZV

It's acting almost like an over-fermented dough but it shouldn't be over-fermented in this timeframe with a natural starter. It also hadn't really expanded in size until quite late in the fermentation time. When I checked it in the morning, the dough was still a similar size as the night before but by lunch time it had grown to about double in size but it had grown wide not tall and puffy.

Any ideas?

Recipe:

100g starter (50:50 starter)
247g flour (Tipo 00, 11% protein)
143g water (65% hydration)
9g salt (3%)
« Last Edit: May 07, 2021, 10:41:07 AM by Pete-zza »

Offline luckydutch

• I Love Pizza!
Re: Sourdough Pizza - Very soft, full of bubbles on the surface
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2021, 07:11:41 AM »
Probably over fermented as you are using 40% starter in your dough.

That was my first thought too but if it's over-fermented, how do you account for the fact that it only increased in size right towards the end of the fermentation?