A D V E R T I S E M E N T

Author Topic: Autolyse advantage for SD Pizza?  (Read 916 times)

Offline Ryan R

• Searching for the perfect Pizza
Autolyse advantage for SD Pizza?
« on: March 10, 2021, 09:26:25 PM »
I read somewhere on the site that Pete-zza saw the benefit of using an Autolyse period for SD starter infused dough. He mentioned that he was not a fan of using it with commercial yeast. What makes it an advantage with SD? Curious --- as I am just beginning to experiment with SD starter usage in my pizza dough.
Ryan

Offline corkd

• Lifetime Member
  • I Love Pizza!
Re: Autolyse advantage for SD Pizza?
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2021, 09:42:48 AM »
Do you mean an autolyse period after incorporating the starter? Even though a true autolyse does not incorporate starter, you can do it either way. According to Trevor Wilson in his book Open Crumb Mastery, ...the net effects of the autolyse are greater extensibility, greater fermentation, greater crust color, and greater flavor.... I find this to be true whether making pizza or bread using SD.

Offline scott r

• Supporting Member
  • I Love Pizzafreaks!
« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2021, 09:51:07 AM »
Thats a lot of positives!   What amount of time does the book recommend to autolyse?

Offline mac_whiskers

• I Love Pizza!
« Reply #3 on: March 12, 2021, 10:06:45 AM »
He usually does overnight autolyse with salt in the fridge. Ive never tried it but it seems to work for him. Its especially helpful if youre using a high amount of whole grain flour

Offline corkd

• Lifetime Member
  • I Love Pizza!
« Reply #4 on: March 12, 2021, 10:20:06 AM »
Thats a lot of positives!   What amount of time does the book recommend to autolyse?
He says at least 20 minutes, up to several hours... and that he prefers 1-2 hours. To be clear, hes talking about bread baking.