A D V E R T I S E M E N T

Author Topic: Problems with overcooked/"burning" cheese  (Read 737 times)

Offline lazerlike42

• I Love Pizza!
Problems with overcooked/"burning" cheese
« on: April 30, 2022, 10:30:32 AM »
I grew up in New England where NY style pizza  is so ubiquitous that I thought it was normal everywhere. A few years ago I moved to Wisconsin where quite literally nobody has ever heard of it or even anything close. I spent 10 minutes the other day trying to explain to my students what it is and had a hard time just because they have no frame of reference.

I've been making pizza for many years but since moving have been trying in earnest to really get it right. I've lurked here for years and following a lot of the advice and discussion I've read here I've gotten the pizza to the point that I consider it pretty close to the point that it's nearly satisfying what I've been missing, but one problem I've run into as everything else gets pretty close the cheese is cooking too fast and starting to burn. Example photos are attached. The crust in these is slightly underdone because I had to pull it early to keep the cheese from really burning but the crust can get really nice if I let it go longer.

I've got my gas oven preheated about an hour at 550 with a pizza steel on the bottom and a stone a few inches above that. I'm usually doing two pizzas at once, one on each, and the difference between the two isn't as much as it used to be now that I'm preheating for so long. In this case it's entirely part-skim mozzarella, as that's what I've seen used frequently. I've thought about trying whole milk mozzarella but I don't know if that will make the difference. I'm also starting with the cheese straight out of the fridge to try to give it more breathing room before it starts to overcook.