A D V E R T I S E M E N T

Author Topic: Pizza oven build insulation questions  (Read 224 times)

Offline stevon

• I Love Pizza!
Pizza oven build insulation questions
« on: April 08, 2021, 02:00:34 AM »
Guy's,

Novice here and have a few general wood fired Pizza oven build questions. Oven is a Dome Oven DIY Segmented Model - Large Pizza Oven KIT. My masonry oven stand isn't built yet so I can still adjust the finished oven floor height. I'm working with a contractor who never built a pizza oven (this will be his first). We have had problems communicating already. At first he dug or "scratched the earth" down 1.5 inches for the slab on the ground while I wasn't there. We had agreed to a 4.5 inch rebar slab beforehand. Came home from work and was so angry at what he did that I got out my hammer drill and dug down/shoveled out the pad hole to a 6" depth in the rock hard clay after work. I figured that 1.5" gravel + 4.5" finished slab top to be installed at ground level (no step). This was all agreed to before he got a deposit and I believed that he understood. When he came back on the weekend with his crew it was done right, see pictures. Before the cinder/cement block is laid I have instructed him to build the block height to 36" with a 4" rebar reinforced slab to be poured on top. But I think this is too high with extra insulation. Stand top design now is at 40", planned to add 2" ceramic fiber board + 2" fire brick floor makes the oven floor height already at 44"  Which is the absolute max I could cook with. I have read here and elsewhere that 4" insulation under the oven floor is only "OK" but on the other hand I can't just keep making changes to the plan or my contractor will walk when he comes by this weekend. Guess I'll have to figure (negotiate) a reasonable block height  of 32" to 36" of installed block height under the a slab top of 4" thick. Question: Will 2" of perlite/cement and the 2" ceramic fiber board be adequate insulation? then to place aluminum foi