A D V E R T I S E M E N T

Author Topic: Wholewheat Poolish Pizza Dough Experiment  (Read 171 times)

Offline fizzymartini

• I Love Pizza!
Wholewheat Poolish Pizza Dough Experiment
« on: July 31, 2021, 08:03:05 AM »
I'm a complete newbie into making neo-neapolitan style pizzas with Poolish and wanting to integrate wholewheat (integrale!), both for that unique nutty taste and to make my addiction just that tiny bit healthier :P

I did a lot of research before my last batch (80% wholemeal, 70% hydration) with "okay" results, but came across a thread somewhere (which I've since lost) asking why most recipes recommend making the poolish with plain flour rather than wholemeal flour? Layman's logic suggests giving the wholemeal flour a "head start" might result in a softer crust?? I have no idea, but with the unusual luxury of time on my hands this weekend, I decided to do an experiment - 50:50 wholemeal dough, but head-to-head wholewheat poolish vs. plain 00 poolish.

I'll share the findings as we go in this thread in case far more knowledgeable Forumites can weigh in and it can help anyone else!

So to start, here are the two starters after 24h at 24C RT. Tried to keep the controls as constant as possible but unfortunately didn't have identically-sized jars to hand! The wholewheat poolish was far more bubbly and less soupy than the 00 poolish.

Offline fizzymartini

• I Love Pizza!
Re: Wholewheat Poolish Pizza Dough Experiment
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2021, 08:15:32 AM »
Forgot to say, we're going for 67% hydration with these doughs, 2.5% salt.

So... mixed the wholewheat flour into the 00 poolish, and 00 flour into the wholewheat poolish, then left both to rest. Not that much difference yet.

Offline fizzymartini

• I Love Pizza!
« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2021, 08:23:05 AM »
Here's where the paths fork!

The 00 Poolish dough is way easier to work. Pretty tight and solid - can be kneaded. Could definitely have upped the hydration on this.