Pepperoni in Europe?

Started by been, February 13, 2018, 04:13:50 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

been

Hi everyone,

I have been doing a bit of searching around on the forums and have not been able to find any European-based pepperoni suppliers here in Europe.

I know that we have a country called Italy on this side of the Atlantic, and that of course there are lots of amazing Pizza-friendly cured meats to be found there, but as you all know, US-style pepperoni (like the stuff you get from Ezzo or Salumeria Biellese) is actually not so easy to find!  I don't want to use a replacement like Chorizo as some people have recommended.  I want to get as close as possible to the good stuff from America.

So my question is: has anyone found a decent supplier here in Europe?  If there is already a thread about this, please forgive me - I am still learning how to use the search function.

Regards,

Brook

Essen1

Brock,

You most likely won't find Ezzo-style pepperoni in Europe. Well, they don't even call it pepperoni. What you need to look for is something called 'salame piccante'.

Also, chorizo might be indeed a good sub for pepperoni. Chorizo in Europe is completely different than what is sold here.

Hope that helps.
Mike

"All styles of pizza are valid. I make the best I'm capable of; you should make the best you're capable of. I don't want to make somebody else's pizza." ~ Chris Bianco

Gianni5

Ditto to what Mike said
Salame piccante
Calabrese salame
Sopressata piccante

Essen1

Here's a pie that is topped with "Salame Piccante". Looks great, imho.

Mike

"All styles of pizza are valid. I make the best I'm capable of; you should make the best you're capable of. I don't want to make somebody else's pizza." ~ Chris Bianco

been

Quote from: Essen1 on February 13, 2018, 08:03:48 PM
Here's a pie that is topped with "Salame Piccante". Looks great, imho.