A D V E R T I S E M E N T

Author Topic: PIDs/SSR/Dimmer duty cycle/efficiency/power factor  (Read 510 times)

Offline miv

• I Love Pizza!
PIDs/SSR/Dimmer duty cycle/efficiency/power factor
« on: February 10, 2022, 04:54:29 PM »
So after researching how to bake evenly and getting helpful ideas from other forum members(thanks, guys),
I came to the conclusion that it would be best to be able to control the power to the heater.

I am not an expert on PIDs/Dimmers, but my understanding is as follows:
The duty cycle is basically how much of the time the heater is on, which in
other terms can be equal to how much % of the power are we using.
So basically the PID turns the heater on/off really fast to make this happen
and it uses an SSR(a kind of a solid-state relay) which needs a heatsink.
Ie. there are heat losses.

A dimmer is a manual way to control the duty cycle, it doesn't need an SSR,
because it uses a triac(SCR) to turn the heater on/off really fast, and it's
controlled via knob(potentiometer).

So I was thinking of combining a dimmer with a PID to get both things.
Basically be able to select max power for the top heater and also get precise temperature.

However after reading it seems there are a lot of issues with this approach.

It seems both PIDs and Dimmers have a low power factor and create bad interference in the electrical network.
This is because when they switch the heater on/off they don't care about the instantaneous voltage(which varies, cause AC power, so for example 230V AC 50Hz means -325V to 325V cycling 50 times per second).
So if you use PIDs and Dimmers you chop parts of the electric cycles, which makes for bad power factor.

Now this is where I am confused - I found that people are saying this is an issue(low power factor) with dimmers, but what about PIDs with SSR?
My logic is that it should be an issue as well since a PID operates much like a Dimmer.
Can someone comment on this?