A D V E R T I S E M E N T

Author Topic: Ooni Karu beginner dough  (Read 429 times)

Offline tnumrych

• I Love Pizza!
Ooni Karu beginner dough
« on: October 26, 2022, 03:00:31 PM »
Hey everyone,

I'm new to home pizza oven baking. I tried my hand last weekend using Ooni's Cold-Prove Pizza Dough recipe and it was pretty disastrous. The dough was fragile and easily torn. I think part of the problem was that I attempted to accelerate warming up the dough in my oven (cold) with the light on. IIRC I checked the dough temp prior to stretching and it was only about 75F, but I'm not certain that was the issue. I was only able to stretch and put on my peel two of the four balls (250g each)

Anyways, what's a good beginner dough recipe for a home pizza oven, Ooni or otherwise?
« Last Edit: October 26, 2022, 03:22:09 PM by tnumrych »

Offline kbrede

• Supporting Member
    • Bluestem Baker
Re: Ooni Karu beginner dough
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2022, 05:08:26 PM »
I'm just starting out myself. Don't worry about the failures :)

You mentioned putting the dough in the oven and I don't see anything about that in the recipe you're following. Making dough isn't like making soup, follow the recipe and the directions closely until you know what you're doing. I think you learned that already ;)

Are you using a mixer or mixing/kneading by hand? Are you using scales for measuring? What flour are you using?

The recipe is very similar to the one I started with. The hydration you're using is 60% which is a good place to start and works with your Ooni.

-- Kent

Ovens:
Gozney Roccbox
Samsung NX58H5650WS + 3/8 x 15 x 20" steel

Offline tnumrych

• I Love Pizza!
« Reply #2 on: October 26, 2022, 05:40:20 PM »
I'm just starting out myself. Don't worry about the failures :)