A D V E R T I S E M E N T

Author Topic: What's the purpose of bulk fermenting followed by balling then fermenting again?  (Read 778 times)

Offline 9slicePie

Why do some people do another bulk of the individual dough balls after doing a bulk ferment?

Why not just do one bulk ferment?  OR  Why not make the dough balls and let those ferment once?

EDIT: Just looking to see how to minimize as many steps as possible and yet still achieve good results.
« Last Edit: April 26, 2021, 10:16:12 AM by 9slicePie »

Offline Pizza_Not_War

I bulk ferment cold, ball 2-3 hours before use and let warm on countertop. I find it to be the simplest method for me.

Offline Pete-zza

• Lifetime Member
  • Global Moderator
  • Always learning
9slicePie,

You might want to take a look at this recent thread:

https://www.pizzamaking.com/forum/index.php?topic=69410.msg668822#msg668822

Peter

Offline 9slicePie

Offline snoissea

• I Love Pizza!
I'm fairly new to pizza making. I had been doing a bulk ferment for 24 hours, then balling and fermenting for less than 24 hours, then warming the dough balls to room temp for 2 hours before cooking the pies. Recently, I've switched to a 48 hr bulk ferment, and balling the dough a couple of hours before making the pies.

For me, balling two hours before works best. If you ball the dough, and it gets away from you during ferment, (blows up) then you have a problem. That's happened to me a couple of times. I find I can get consistently better pies balling the dough two to three hours before I make the pies.

Offline Heikjo

• Lifetime Member
  • Sour dough = happy me