A D V E R T I S E M E N T

Author Topic: Wegman's Cupping Pepperoni ?  (Read 694 times)

Offline NepaBill

Wegman's Cupping Pepperoni ?
« on: February 12, 2021, 07:08:40 AM »
Can anyone confirm /deny the brand of Wegman's cupping pepperoni?  I have contacted them, and as I guessed, they said it's Wegman's brand.  LOL.. I found a company called Battistoni that makes a cupping pepperoni..  The company supplies Wegman's.  Just looking for someone with inside info to confirm or deny it is Battistoni brand..

Offline Zing

Re: Wegman's Cupping Pepperoni ?
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2021, 01:11:00 PM »
I am assuming the cupping pepperoni you are referring to is packed in the stores in a plastic tub (random weights) and is sold in a refrigerated case with all sorts of pizza making supplies such as sauce, cheese, crusts, etc.

I have been buying those pizza making products for the last 20 years, though less so lately because Wegmans is getting more like every other supermarket chain out there and dropping some of the products they only made or carried. I have found that they changed suppliers very often on these loose pizza products.

I am not sure how much Wegmans is buying from Battistoni of Buffalo, NY right now. If you put Battistoni into their search box right now, it auto-completes a long list of products that Battistoni makes, but none of them are available right now in the half dozen Wegmans market areas I tried. Battistoni makes many charcuterie items that Wegmans may have sold at one time.

The products are packed by the pizza counterman. I did once mange to get the man on duty to tell me the name of the regular pepperoni he was selling. I could see the pepperoni came in one of those familiar foodservice type boxes. I suggest a little social engineering at the store level. Wegmans has traditionally bought these meat products from the smaller processed meat suppliers in the New York/Pennsylvania/Massachusetts areas.

Offline marsupilami

• I Love Pizza!