A D V E R T I S E M E N T

Author Topic: Associazione Verace Pizza Napoletana Dough formula Vs. Everything else  (Read 957 times)

Offline Darren K

• I Love Pizza!
Hi all, I have been enjoying a Pizza Party oven now for 3 years. As mainly a lurker on the forum when I first received the oven I tried several different dough recipe's, yeast amounts, hydration levels, Short Vs. Long Fermentations.... etc. etc.  Always having some decent success, some better than others... but never amazing. One day I found this page on the interweb and did my best to duplicate it exactly as written with the tools I had, Pies turned out to be about the best using this method and I have continued to use for the last 2 summers. ( I assume this is the real recipe and technique )

https://www.pizzanapoletana.org/public/pdf/disciplinare%202008%20UK.pdf

My question to you all, if this is the VPN standard that I believe most of us are trying to duplicate, Why stray so far from the original formula with different yeasts, starters, Hydration levels, fermentation times etc. I Guess what I am trying to ask is, Other than for the sake of experimenting what is everyone trying to achieve by swaying from the original VPN formula.

Thanks

Darren

Offline Bill/SFNM

• Lifetime Member
  • Global Moderator

My question to you all, if this is the VPN standard that I believe most of us are trying to duplicate, Why stray so far from the original formula with different yeasts, starters, Hydration levels, fermentation times etc. I Guess what I am trying to ask is, Other than for the sake of experimenting what is everyone trying to achieve by swaying from the original VPN formula.