A D V E R T I S E M E N T

Author Topic: Making decent pizza with a low temp oven?  (Read 700 times)

Offline AlanStreak

• I Love Pizza!
Making decent pizza with a low temp oven?
« on: August 07, 2021, 05:39:05 PM »
Hey guys, I'm totally new to making pizza so please forgive my ignorance.

I need to improve the bottom of my pizzas, they don't brown much at all.

My main issue (I think) is that my oven isn't very good, I don't have the option of replacing it so my question is, are there any recipe adjustments I can make to get a better from a low temp oven?

My oven is max 190C and I'm currently using the Adam Ragusea recipe, it takes around 12-14 minutes to fully cook my pizza. It tastes ok but it does cause some cheese separation, I've been getting around this by using mozzarella slices instead of grated which seems to help.

I'm using a 6mm pizza steel which is pre-heated for 2 hours before use, and this cheese https://www.waitrose.com/ecom/products/galbani-mozzarella-cucina/041221-20390-20391

I'm using Indian head corn meal to slide in

Crust crisps up nicely, it's just the bottom that needs help.

Any support or tips would be greatly appreciated.

Offline RHawthorne

• Supporting Member
  • I Love Pizza!
Re: Making decent pizza with a low temp oven?
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2021, 07:25:13 PM »
Some pictures of your finished pies would help us a lot to figure out how to proceed.
If we're not questioning the reason for our existence, then what the hell are we doing here?!

Offline AlanStreak

• I Love Pizza!
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2021, 01:33:16 PM »
Some pictures of your finished pies would help us a lot to figure out how to proceed.

Sure, thanks!

Here's one I made tonight, it's only a 1day cold rise so I know it's not as fluffy as it could be, it's a lot better after 3-4 days but who has the patience to wait for pizza!

*this is 11mins in the oven, preheated steel for 2 hours on the bottom rack of an electric fan oven.