A D V E R T I S E M E N T

Author Topic: Avoiding large bubbles on edge of dough ball during cf  (Read 551 times)

Offline lennyk

Avoiding large bubbles on edge of dough ball during cf
« on: October 11, 2021, 06:39:09 AM »
I do a 48hr cold ferment, sometime longer but I usually go for slightly overfermented.

I sometimes end up with very large bubbles at the edge of the dough ball which requires popping and results in flat are where it was on the cornicione ?

Any suggestions ?

Offline Jackie Tran

• Supporting Member
Re: Avoiding large bubbles on edge of dough ball during cf
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2021, 07:55:05 AM »
Use the dough sooner, ie don't let it get that overfermented or do a gentle reball several days into cold fermentation.

Offline Monkeyboy

• I Love Pizza!
« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2021, 09:26:45 AM »
I'm no expert, but I have had the same problem.  I have been slowly knocking down the % of yeast in my recipe.  My process is @10 hour room temp ferment, then ball -> then 24ish hour cold ferment.  Then room temp for 2-3 hours prior to baking.

Started at .3%, then .2%, then .1% - each time I knocked it down, I got less 'wild' air bubbles.

Example Margherita using more yeast vs Zucchini using less yeast -

Offline drainaps

• Good pizza makes the world a happier place
« Reply #3 on: October 11, 2021, 01:26:04 PM »

Sounds like your dough is over fermented. You donít say, but I assume youíre using instant yeast. Things to check:

1) Dough temperature when you finish mixing.
2) Do you leave your dough around at room temperature after mixing, and if so for how long.
3) % of yeast used.
4) Balling technique: Make sure you make balls before you cold ferment and make sure said balls have tension in them before any fermentation starts. Make sure surface of balls is not damaged by improper balling technique.