A D V E R T I S E M E N T

Author Topic: Best Pizza Cheese Around Me  (Read 629 times)

Offline jumpsuit23

• I Love Pizza!
Best Pizza Cheese Around Me
« on: April 02, 2021, 12:17:45 PM »
Hey all. I'm very new to pizza and I'm running into an issue with my cheese. The cheese seems to separate during the bake and I'm not sure if this is a temp problem or a quality of cheese problem. I used Polly O brand cheese for my pizza and I'm not sure if there are better alternatives available to me.

I live in Columbus Ohio so if anyone has any better suggestions of cheese, I'm very open to alternatives in my area.

Attached are my most recent attempts, thanks everyone!

Offline Peter B

• Supporting Member
  • This is a marathon-not a sprint
Re: Best Pizza Cheese Around Me
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2021, 01:27:36 PM »
Hello and welcome!
I am in the area as well.  Did you get the Polly-O at Carfagna's?
A couple things on your cheese issue:
- can you detail how you cooked the pie?  The splitting seems to happen when the cheese is melted too fast or spends too much time under intense heat (like from a broiler), in my experience.
- one thing that will help at least a bit is to really cool down the cheese before using - as in, stick it in the freezer for 15 min or so before dressing the pie

You have a couple other options to try in the area:
- I regularly use Trader Joe's WMLM with very solid results.  I would suggest trying it.
- Depending on the amount of pizzas you make, you can get some Grande pre-shredded at a GFS.  I have made pizzas using Grande WMLM that I shredded from a block and it was excellent.  I have heard good things about the Primo Gusto brand there as well.  The issue is that you have to buy 5 pounds at a time.  You can portion it and freeze it if you have the space.
- If you can get access to the Restaurant Depot, they have commercial brands as well.  Other folks on this site would be able to recommend certain brands.