Opening My First Pizzeria (in the Gulf)

Started by ThePizzaDJ, August 27, 2021, 12:52:14 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ThePizzaDJ

Good morning/afternoon Pizzaiolos wherever you are. I am in need of some help and suggestions with running a small-scale pizzeria.

I have been making pizza at home for the past 20 years and I intend on opening a pizzeria in 2022 (10 months from now).

I have been planning a menu and practicing my very own recipe using ingredients found locally. I make my own dough and sauce from scratch (as we all do). I have 2 years of restaurant experience and don't intend on running the business. My brother on the other hand has been working in the pizza business for over 10 years and he'll be adding the managerial aspect to this restaurant. We will both be the master chefs, I'm the investor, and he'll be the head manager (as I continue working my own full-time job which will be used to support the business).

1. The first and foremost question I need to ask is within the flour. I am Canadian so I speak in Canadian dollars. The flour I currently use is local All-Purpose flour and costs approximately $1.5/kg. Ideally, I'd like to work with this flour to cut costs, otherwise, Caputo 00 flour will hit me with $5.00/kg and if you know business, I need to cut down costs as much as possible. So the question I have is just how important is the flour in your recipe? If you swapped your flour for a lower-grade flour, what percentage do you believe your recipe will fluctuate? I am experimenting with semolina and believe that a mixture with semolina will solve my dough quality problem (enhance the flavor and texture of this dough). For the record, it's really not bad flour. I'm just questioning every aspect to the recipe and making everything a priority.