A D V E R T I S E M E N T

Author Topic: Lloyd Pan  (Read 662 times)

Offline FridayNightPizza

• I Love Pizza!
Lloyd Pan
« on: February 24, 2021, 01:30:05 PM »

Hello,

I'd love recommendations or suggestions for a Lloyd pan or rolled baking steel to make a wet Romana dough.  I have seen negative reviews for coatings coming off the Lloyd pan. 

Thanks for any help!

Carey Ann

Offline jsaras

• Supporting Member
Re: Lloyd Pan
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2021, 03:49:32 PM »
As a home baker, I have nothing but positive experience with my Lloyds PSTK pans.  I'd venture to guess that most of the problems are with commercial operators whose use is more abusive. 

I can't speak to the use of baking steel (usually 30-40 lbs) for that style of pizza.  Are you perhaps thinking of blue steel pans?  I have blue steel pans made by Paderno and Ottinetti and they are both excellent.  They'll outlast me!
Things have never been more like today than they are right now.

Offline scott r

• Supporting Member
  • I Love Pizzafreaks!
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2021, 04:04:38 PM »
I agree, as home user my Lloyd's pans seem very sturdy and like they will last forever.   One thing to consider is that after some side by side testing my Lloyd's pans do not bake the bottom of the pizza quite as dark as my well seasoned steel pans.  This could be an advantage or a disadvantage depending on your oven and recipe.  I think that for a very wet dough it might be a disadvantage, and the lloyds pan will work better for you, but that goes against roman tradition.   On the flip side I actually have a better nonstick surface on my steel pans that I seasoned myself, but both work well.

Offline FridayNightPizza

• I Love Pizza!
« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2021, 12:33:21 AM »

Hi Scott,

What do you recommend for Romana? Steel or Lloyd?  I cannot find a suitable steel with rolled edges.  Do you know of one?

Thanks for the help.

Carey Ann

Offline nickyr

« Reply #4 on: February 25, 2021, 03:53:07 PM »