A D V E R T I S E M E N T

Author Topic: Oven Rack Position?  (Read 483 times)

Offline machineman

• Pizza from BUF > ALL
Oven Rack Position?
« on: February 16, 2021, 09:39:46 AM »
I am a newbie in trying to create my own home pizzas (in the Buffalo NY style) and have done 4 of them so far.

Each time, I feel the bottom of the crust was not as crispy as it could be (though, it was cooked, and certainly edible). At the same time, the top of the pizza was pushing "way done!" which is what prompted me to pull them out as well.

My home oven goes to 550 degrees.

My first 2 pies were baked at 550, middle oven rack

3rd pie was baked at 500, mid bottom oven rack

4th pie was baked at 525, bottom oven rack

The 550 gave the nicest char of all of them as far as the pepperoni is concerned. The lower temps more "cooked" the pepperoni through, rather than a quick edge char.

My question is, is there a secret to getting a browner bottom, at the same time not burining the top? 

Does the top rack of the oven provide more heat at the top, or less? (feels like it would be more, with the reflection?)

Anyway, just looking for any advice on home oven rack positioning you all may have!

Offline Peter B

• Supporting Member
  • This is a marathon-not a sprint
Re: Oven Rack Position?
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2021, 11:34:24 AM »
Have you been putting the pan on a preheated stone or steel?  Or just the oven rack?  If just the oven rack and you have a stone / steel, try putting the pan on the preheated stone/steel and see where that gets you.  Hope that helps-
The Broz
I said to my little one, "come here so I can change you".
He said "change only comes from within".  :-/

Offline Pete-zza

• Lifetime Member
  • Global Moderator
  • Always learning
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2021, 11:52:32 AM »
machineman,