A D V E R T I S E M E N T

Author Topic: The Flop (NYC Style)  (Read 639 times)

Offline jamshm

• I Love Pizza!
The Flop (NYC Style)
« on: April 18, 2022, 03:56:42 PM »
Hello. I’ve been making home pizza now for a few years. One of the things that I’ve been trying to achieve is the “flop” found in many a New York slice. Any advice on how to achieve this?

Thanks in advance

Offline hammettjr

• Supporting Member
  • Matt
Re: The Flop (NYC Style)
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2022, 07:52:16 PM »
You may need to elaborate on what exactly you're after. Basically a non-crisp crust will droop when you hold it. Is that what you mean?

There was definitely confusion around this when Portnoy moved to NY and started commenting about "good flop". He then changed it to "good no flop". Many people like a little crisp and structural integrity therefore not flopping is a sign. Depends on what you're after though.

Matt

Offline jamshm

• I Love Pizza!
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2022, 02:04:51 AM »
Hey.  Thanks for the reply.  Yes absolutely, let me clarify.  Ive been trying to make a NYC Style Pizza at home on my baking steel.  Essentially given the size of the steel I can at max make a 14inch pie.  I can get the bottom crisp (ie more structural integrity) but recently ive been looking to make a softer almost chewier dough, less crunch. 

Admittedly I was referencing Portnoy when it comes to the "Flop" 
Ideally, I would love to make a thinner bottom that is not so crispy but has a delicate chew to it.

My dough recipe for one 14 inch pie is as follows.
250g of KABF or All Trumps
170g of Water (68% Hydration)
3% Salt
3% Sugar
1% IDY
2% EVOO at the end

I take half the flour and mix it with the sugar and IDY in my Kitchen Aid Mixer.
Add in all of the water until well combined and let it rest for 30 min.
Add in the rest of the flour and salt
Add in the EVOO slowly
Remove from mixing bowl when soft (10min of mixing on low speed)