A D V E R T I S E M E N T

Author Topic: Just got a new (to me) Hobart H600. Looking for advice  (Read 605 times)

Offline BANTAR1000

• I Love Pizza!
Just got a new (to me) Hobart H600. Looking for advice
« on: March 01, 2022, 09:27:44 PM »
I couldn't sleep the other night and at 2:30 I found myself wasting time on facebook marketplace.  The third item I saw was a Hobart H600.  Apparently, these guys owned a bakery and have been storing it in the back of the bakery for 10 years.  I asked what he wanted for it, and he said, "You can have it, I just need it out of the way."  SO, I now have a Hobart H600 in my garage.  Since it hasn't been started in years and I don't know what I'm doing, I'm looking for some advice.  What should I do before starting it?  Also, I'm an electrician but I don't know anything about these things.  The nameplate is there, but I can't read what phase it is.  There was a language barrier with the guys who gave it to me and they said, "We can't use it.  No 3 phase."  But I'm not sure that it is 3 phase.  I included pics, does anyone know if this thing is 3  phase of single?  AND what amps it would draw?  I think I see '10.' and hanging out of it is a 12-2 BX wire.  Thanks in advance!  -John

Offline scott r

• Supporting Member
  • I Love Pizzafreaks!
Re: Just got a new (to me) Hobart H600. Looking for advice
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2022, 10:17:41 PM »
Very cool!  Its under 20 amps, and if its 3 phase its well under 20 amps.  Around 10 sounds about right even for single phase.  Do you know if it has 3 or 4 wires coming out of it?   if 3 wires its single phase (2 hot one ground), if 4 wires coming out of it its three phase (3 hot one ground).

Offline frankenfab

• Supporting Member
  • I Love Pizza!
« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2022, 06:30:47 AM »
I found this spec sheet, but it lists a 2 HP motor. Since the cover is already loose, maybe you can find a plate on the motor that will tell you what phase it is.