A D V E R T I S E M E N T

Author Topic: 1-2 day CF vs 6-8 hr RF  (Read 834 times)

Offline chara48

• I Love Pizza!
1-2 day CF vs 6-8 hr RF
« on: November 22, 2018, 04:49:44 PM »
Hello,

I am still a relative newbie and have been experimenting with my dough making techniques.  I've been reading comments here as well as reading The Pizza Bible and Elements of Pizza.  In The Elements book, Forkish talks about making sure the dough is "mature" and he has both room temperature and cold temperature recipes.  So far I have had some success with the room temp. recipe (mix the dough mid morning, leave on counter, cook pizza later that evening).  I have read about the 1-2 day cold fermentations as helping to develop flavor. 

My question how active can the yeast be in a refrigerator at 40F?  Can the yeast ferment enough to have a "mature" dough at those low temperatures?  What are the indicators of a mature dough?

Thanks,
Chris

Offline gtsum2

Re: 1-2 day CF vs 6-8 hr RF
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2018, 06:42:25 PM »
In for answers also. I have used Forkish recipes for neo type pizza in the home oven (and the blackstone) with very good success...I have better results with his 24-38 south using both room temp bulk and fridge cold balled ferment

Offline norcoscia

• I really Love Pizza!
    • MyPizzaMaster
« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2018, 06:52:33 PM »
To test CF out shoot for a finished dough temp about 73-75 degrees F, use .4-.5 IDY. That should be OK for a 48 hour CF. CF doughs (once they cool down to the temp in your refrigerator) have a big window of usability. 3 day CF is my favorite for a lot of reasons. Happy to provide more info if interested....

Best to use a dough calculator for the recipe. I have one online at

www.mypizzamaster.com

and there are others you can find on the forum too.

The dough should about double in size when it is close to ready (but you can go with it a little on either side of double).....
Norm