A D V E R T I S E M E N T

Author Topic: cracker in a blackstone  (Read 1516 times)

Offline bonesbr549

cracker in a blackstone
« on: January 10, 2016, 12:59:45 PM »
Anybody done a cracker crust in a blackstone?   Second if you have a recipie for wings that would be cool.

Offline TXCraig1

• Supporting Member
  • Pizza is not bread.
    • Craig's Neapolitan Garage
Re: cracker in a blackstone
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2016, 03:05:50 PM »
I didn't do cracker, but I did a bunch of bar style in the BS. Use whatever recipe you like and just get the heat right.
"We make great pizza, with sourdough when we can, baker's yeast when we must, but always great pizza."  
Craig's Neapolitan Garage

Offline barryvabeach

• Supporting Member
« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2016, 09:12:54 PM »
I am no expert on cracker style, but I made a few.   I did not parbake, but did turn the BS way down.

Offline BadDad63

• I Love Pizza!
« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2017, 02:20:16 AM »
I do cracker on the BS. I parbake in a cutter pan. I use a temp gun and get the bottom stone to 550-575. Parbake only takes about a minute or so . Just enough to see the crust forming air pockets. Then I add sauce, cheese and toppings. I place the pizza directly on the stone with the flame low. I check the bottom and when it starts to brown I turn up the flame to get the top done. I've never timed it but it's pretty fast. Took a little practice to figure out you have to let the bottom cook a little before you turn up the gas or the top would burn before the bottom was done. Or if you started with the bottom too hot it burns before the top is done. 550-575 seems to be about right for me. I use DKM's recipe except I use 1/2 bread flour and 1/2 all purpose. I like to let it sit on the counter at least 24 hours, 48 is even better.
« Last Edit: January 25, 2017, 02:26:41 AM by BadDad63 »

Offline JoeDSM

« Reply #4 on: January 30, 2017, 01:14:59 PM »