A D V E R T I S E M E N T

Author Topic: Airy Sicilian style?  (Read 658 times)

Offline TheOGPorkchop

• I Love Pizza!
Airy Sicilian style?
« on: September 22, 2020, 03:15:15 PM »
Hey everyone, I am new to the pizza making game and I am trying to concoct the perfect game day Sicilian style pizza that doesn't feel like a brick in your stomach. I am by no means a professional and I have tried several different recipes and have yet to prefect this. I am looking for a very light airy yet crispy crust. If anyone is familiar with Quattro Goombas in Aldie VA, that is kind of the style I am going for. I have added a photo (hopefully it worked) of a similar crumb structure but this is not my photo. I have done some reading on higher hydration producing an airier crumb while also making sure not to use flour with high protein content.

I guess I am here looking for a gift from god of a recipe that might get me close, I'm just really fed up with trying all these different techniques and such and only ever getting thigh heavy dough. What do I need to do to get that light airy, crispy and crunchy deep dish Sicilian of my dreams?

Offline tennisman03110

• I Love Pizza!
Re: Airy Sicilian style?
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2020, 05:39:58 PM »
What does yours look like? I made my first Sicilian style using the 5 hour dough on this site, by Craig. It came out quite well.

You can see the forum about it. I also tell my procedure. I'm very much new to this style, but it worked great for me.

Offline TheOGPorkchop

• I Love Pizza!
« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2020, 05:50:10 PM »
What does yours look like? I made my first Sicilian style using the 5 hour dough on this site, by Craig. It came out quite well.

You can see the forum about it. I also tell my procedure. I'm very much new to this style, but it worked great for me.