A D V E R T I S E M E N T

Author Topic: Question on using the broiler  (Read 3127 times)

Offline mkevenson

• Lifetime Member
  • Roos! Protector of Fowl
Re: Question on using the broiler
« Reply #20 on: September 08, 2012, 10:50:38 AM »
Scott, thank you for your comments. Many years of pizza baking have gone into your's and others on the forums, dough formulas. I try always to preface my posts with the understanding that I am a rookie. My current methods and recipes are in a state of flux, albeit sometimes successful. I will keep reading and hopefully learning and some day will grasp the nuances of the art.

Mark
"Gettin' better all the time" Beatles

scott123

Re: Question on using the broiler
« Reply #21 on: September 08, 2012, 11:13:47 AM »
I didn't see anywhere whether the broiler should be on low or high? Should I simply try both?

Also, Scott - what do you mean when you say a lot of folks have ovens that require the use of higher oil and sugar concentrations? Are their stones simply not coming to temperature? Or maybe the oven heat setting does not go past 500? I have a pretty cheap oven and I'm not having any problems, so I'm curious.

Marie, my broiler doesn't have a low setting.  It might be worth trying to see if you can get more even browning with low.