A D V E R T I S E M E N T

Author Topic: New Ischia Adventure  (Read 552 times)

Offline ryanlally

• I Love Pizza!
New Ischia Adventure
« on: June 28, 2020, 06:56:46 AM »
Hi,

I recently got my ischia starter activated and i am very excited to put it to the test. I was thinking of the following recipe, going off of craigs SD chart:

1000g Caputo Pizzeria
650g Water (65%)
30g sea salt (3%)
75g Starter (7.5%)

Bulk ferment for 12 hours, Balled 12hours at 18C-20C

I am still new to the whole sourdough thing so just wondering if i am using 75g starter that is 100% hydrated, should i subtract 32.5g of water and flour from the final product or simple just add the starter on top of the 1kg of flour and 650g of water?

Offline Arne_Jervell

• I Love Pizza!
Re: New Ischia Adventure
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2020, 07:02:33 AM »
My preference is to account for the flour and water in the sourdough, because I am nitpicky and want to have control on total hydration percentage. The math is a bit more cumbersome, but Excel comes to the rescue.

With 100% hydrated culture (which is also what I use by the way) I would consider half og the weight water and half of it flour. That ignores the weight of the yeast and bacteria, but I think that is forgivable.

Offline HansB

• Lifetime Member
    • 500px
« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2020, 07:14:23 AM »
By using your numbers you'll be at 66.1% hydration, if you want to be at 65% you can reduce the flour and water by your 32.5g. Won't be a significant difference...
Hans

Offline ryanlally

• I Love Pizza!
« Reply #3 on: June 28, 2020, 10:42:06 AM »
Ok great, thanks very much for the replies. I'll definitely subtract the flour and water in relation to the starter. Will post pictures of tomorrow's bake

Offline Packard_Goose

• I Love Pizza!
« Reply #4 on: June 28, 2020, 02:43:18 PM »