A D V E R T I S E M E N T

Author Topic: Suggestions for accelerating/retarding dough fermentation?  (Read 347 times)

Offline Dptdpt

• I Love Pizza!
Suggestions for accelerating/retarding dough fermentation?
« on: July 02, 2017, 06:43:00 AM »
I usually do a 2 day refrigerator ferment, but we decided last minute yesterday morning to have a pizza party last night, so I attempted to make a quick dough. I made the 65% hydration dough with about .5% ADY, and put it in the fridge, thinking that letting it rise for 2 hours while the WFO heated up, would be enough for the dough to be ready. It wasn't ready at cook time, so I put it in a 150 degree oven to speed things up. I've never done that before, but it actually worked pretty well. The dough developed a little bit of a dried skin on it, but rose quite nicely, and we had a great pizza party.

So - does anyone else do this (use the oven to speed things up)?

And how about the opposite problem - when the dough has gone too far, developing bubbles, etc.

I've had my WFO for two years, but still consider myself something of a newbie when it comes to making dough.  Too often I don't get the dough timing right.  I've still yet to come up with a go-to timing and yeast percentage. I've used that table on this site that shows yeast %, but my dough still often has issues. What do you people do to ensure the dough is ready in time - and what do you do if it's not?  I'd also appreciate any advice as to how to tell when the dough is ready without stretching it.

Thanks!
« Last Edit: July 02, 2017, 07:05:55 PM by Dptdpt »

Offline TXCraig1

• Supporting Member
  • Pizza is not bread.
    • Craig's Neapolitan Garage
Re: Suggestions for accelerating/retarding dough fermentation?
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2017, 09:56:56 AM »