A D V E R T I S E M E N T

Author Topic: peels  (Read 2744 times)

Offline the1mu

• Lifetime Member
Re: peels
« Reply #20 on: March 24, 2016, 08:26:27 PM »

I'm going to be honest, I have not read through this entire thread but I did see the last few posts - and for what it is worth, I'll let you know what I did with some peels a few years back.

Before I do, I want to say I have one peel I have been using for over 20 years and I have never oiled it - it is still fine. I have sanded it and reshaped the peel -- but I have never oiled it.

OK, a few years ago I purchased a larger peel to try to make the biggest pie I could fit in the oven of my last home. I ordered a cheap one and when I got it one side had a bad knot / divot in it. After using the good side I decided to try to go bigger and picked up another peel (just a bit larger) besides, I did not like the one with the knot anyway. When the second one came in I had near identical peels so I decide to run a test. I sanded them both down with fine sandpaper (which is almost always a good idea - they get slicker). With them both freshly sanded and exactly the same I oiled one and left the other as is.

I made a few pies with both and in my opinion the oiled one seemed to drag a bit more than the other (which was just sanded). I have never oiled another peel.

OK so, maybe not scientific but enough for me to just say no to oil on my peels. Maybe different wood (or climates) would make the peel behave differently but for the standard peel I tested - un-oiled was the clear winner. 

Did I mention I have a peel that is over 20 years old and never oiled - to be honest, it might be over 30 years old....

So that is it - just my experience with peels and oil - only passing it along as FYI in case anyone is interested - good luck with whatever you try....

That is exactly the type of opinion I was hoping to read! What grit sandpaper do you recommend using?

Offline The Dough Doctor

• Tom Lehmann
  • Lifetime Member