A D V E R T I S E M E N T

Author Topic: Too much gas??  (Read 483 times)

Offline CanadianPie

• I Love Pizza!
Too much gas??
« on: February 24, 2017, 11:06:20 PM »
I'm new to the pizza game and I've started experimenting with NY style.

I've been using Tom Lehmann's dough pizza dough recipe (unmodified) with 48hr CF.

When I go to stretch out the dough after proofing I find that I have a hard time dealing with gas bubbles when I am forming the rim. This leads to an uneven edge because some parts are of the rim go flat after the trapped bubbles deflate.

I can't figure out if I should be degassing the dough, if this happens because of the way I stretch the dough (my technique is based on this video), or something else!

« Last Edit: February 24, 2017, 11:09:24 PM by CanadianPie »

Offline invertedisdead

• Rest In Pizza
Re: Too much gas??
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2017, 11:17:14 PM »
Try using the dough a little sooner.

Online The Dough Doctor

• Tom Lehmann
  • Lifetime Member
    • Dough Doctor
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2017, 11:51:52 PM »
What is the finished dough temperature? Are you following my dough management procedure or a modified version? A simple adjustment in temperature might solve the problem.
Tom Lehmann/The Dough Doctor

Offline Josh123

« Reply #3 on: March 12, 2017, 07:16:08 PM »
Degas it and shape in flour bowl, then form crust on table
« Last Edit: March 13, 2017, 12:17:35 PM by Josh123 »

Online The Dough Doctor

• Tom Lehmann
  • Lifetime Member
    • Dough Doctor
« Reply #4 on: March 12, 2017, 08:54:13 PM »
Josh;