A D V E R T I S E M E N T

Author Topic: Fermentation Questions  (Read 1577 times)

Offline DoouBall

• Supporting Member
Fermentation Questions
« on: March 18, 2017, 12:23:22 PM »
Dear Dough Doctor,

I have been experimenting with pizza making for about 10 years and tried most of the recipes on pizzamaking.com and many others. However, I still don't fully understand fermentation and it's effect on the final dough product. Some of my biggest confusions lie here:

1)Does fermenting at room temperature produce a different flavor profile compared to using the fridge? Please assume the low yeast methods and long fermentation, such as 18 hours (Lahey method)
2)If you're doing a multi day fridge fermented dough, is there really any benefit in using a poolish too?
3)Does a long bulk ferment achieve most of the benefits of a preferement like poolish?
4)Does it make sense to do a bulk ferment at room temperature and ball ferment in the fridge? Is there an advantage to this over doing both at fridge temperature? Example: https://www.chefsteps.com/activities/life-changing-pizza-dough-with-joe-heffernan-of-seattle-s-independent-pizzeria
5)What's the benefit of balling dough right after it comes off the mixer rather than doing a long bulk ferment followed by ball ferment?

If you could help shed some light on some of this confusion, I would really appreciate it!

Thanks,

Alex

Offline Jersey Pie Boy

• Supporting Member
Re: Fermentation Questions
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2017, 01:04:12 PM »
Alex...this is a great post...I have wondered many or most of these too....will be great to see Tom's answers...

Offline Cogs

• I Love Pizza!
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2017, 02:41:07 PM »
Some light reading until the Doc chimes in;

https://www.pizzamaking.com/forum/index.php?topic=41039.0

Offline DoouBall

• Supporting Member
« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2017, 08:20:35 PM »