A D V E R T I S E M E N T

Author Topic: Crust doesnít brown  (Read 548 times)

Offline Sheabird

• I Love Pizza!
Crust doesnít brown
« on: April 05, 2020, 12:34:13 PM »
I am a newbie just starting to make dough.  I have read quite a number of posts here on this topic but wanted to get some clarification on a few points.  Iím using dough recipes that are derived from Lehmann.  I weigh flour and water.  I use KA bread flour as thatís what I have a bunch of currently.  I have tried hand mix and stand mix.  Iím making small amounts, generally no more than 4 13Ē at a time and cold ferment for 1-3 days.  My oven is a small Miele 6800HB which is 24Ē and not tall so max distance from broil element is about 6Ē.  Max set temp is 475 except for broil which has given me peak temps of about 550.  I use a stone that is 5/8Ē thick.  Now for some questions.
1) closest I have come to decent browning used dough that did have a bit of sugar. Dough had no sweet taste though.  Also I sauced and cooked crust for about 2.5min before adding cheese.  Prior attempts result in burned cheese with no browning.  Is baking crust first common for home pizza?  If so how to avoid the big steam bubbles that puff the dough from stone?
2) seems that steels May work better since steel has higher conductivity and Iím betting higher specific heat.  I see positive comments about steels.  Should I get one?  I was thinking since my oven doesnít get too hot on bake, the steel might do a better job of storing energy in a broil preheat and allow me to not have to run the broiler when the pie is cooking.
3)I seen varying advice on how much kneading should be done.  Does it really matter?  Seems not if people get good results either way.
4) I have assumed that dough should not stick to my hands when kneading is complete.  I donít mean not tacky at all.  I mean it doesnít stick to the hand and adhere such that when you pull the hand away you have a sticky mess of dough on the hand.  Is this correct?