A D V E R T I S E M E N T

Author Topic: Grandma & Grandpa  (Read 2520 times)

Offline AvivNY

• I Love Pizza!
Grandma & Grandpa
« on: February 26, 2017, 10:44:54 AM »
Hi fellow pizza bakers. I am looking to make my first Grandma and Grandpa pies. I typically use a Dough Joe pizza steel for my rounds. I am new to baking Sicilian style and using pans. Though I am baking these pies in a pan, should I still place the pan on the steel to bake? Also if anyone would have some good recommendations or direction for appropriate dough recipes I would greatly appreciate it. 
Thank you Piaziolo friends!

Offline The Dough Doctor

• Tom Lehmann
  • Lifetime Member
    • Dough Doctor
Re: Grandma & Grandpa
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2017, 11:17:57 AM »
My experience has been that if Sicilian style pizzas are baked on a deck surface the bottom of the pizzas get too dark or over done. When baking these in a home oven I like to use the standard issue oven baking rack and if using a commercial deck oven I place a pizza screen under the pan to create an air gap between the pan and the hot deck surface which helps to control the bottom bake.
Tom Lehmann/The Dough Doctor

Offline AvivNY

• I Love Pizza!
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2017, 12:19:17 PM »
My experience has been that if Sicilian style pizzas are baked on a deck surface the bottom of the pizzas get too dark or over done. When baking these in a home oven I like to use the standard issue oven baking rack and if using a commercial deck oven I place a pizza screen under the pan to create an air gap between the pan and the hot deck surface which helps to control the bottom bake.
Thanks for the great advice Tom! Should I get a pan the has holes on the bottom to let air to reach the crust? Or would a regular flat bottom rectangular baking pan do best?

Offline The Dough Doctor

• Tom Lehmann
  • Lifetime Member
    • Dough Doctor
« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2017, 04:19:24 PM »