A D V E R T I S E M E N T

Author Topic: Finally starting my build!  (Read 8998 times)

Offline BANTAR1000

• I Love Pizza!
Finally starting my build!
« on: April 20, 2017, 02:10:54 PM »
Thanks so much for the support this site gives!  You guys have been ridiculously helpful!  I'm cheap (mainly cause I play banjo for a living) and am determined to keep my oven "low cost."  I've been saving bricks, fire bricks, and some metal for the roof for a while and think I'm almost there.  The plan is for a 42" Pompeii.  Hopefully this will be a good start!   

So far for the free stuff I have about 350 new modular bricks, 180 whole fire bricks and quite a few halves, a few pieces of tin and I saw a house being torn down last week and asked about the stainless steel chimney topper.  The person said, "usually, they get torn apart when the chimney falls."  This one shot off of the chimney about 3 feet from when the chimney hit the ground in perfect condition.  She had never seen one not get torn up and it was mine if I wanted it. 

There's a rough drawing of what I think I want my finished product to look like.  What I'm puzzled about right now is, what does the size of the foundation need to be to attach modular bricks to the cinder blocks so that I can continue the brick above the hearth (that I want to be concrete going all around the oven to create a shelf) while giving enough room for the steel studs, backer board, and oven... 

Anyway thanks in advance for any suggestions!

John

Offline quietdesperation

• Lifetime Member
  • I Love Pizza!
Re: Finally starting my build!
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2017, 03:08:23 PM »
good luck, looking forward to following your project!

I see you live in greenville nc, I'm pretty certain I'd be dead if I lived there given the proximity of B's and Ayden Skylight. My last project before retiring last august was in the triangle and I regret not taking a day off to cross both off my bucket list of bbq joints.