A D V E R T I S E M E N T

Author Topic: Pizza pala/in teglia : same dough 2 different results  (Read 3925 times)

Offline Yael

• French Pizza !
    • my Wechat page
Pizza pala/in teglia : same dough 2 different results
« on: December 08, 2017, 09:40:51 AM »
Hi everybody,

Russian flour (protein 12%) 100%
HR 85%
salt 2%
EVOO 2%
IDY 0.8%

Mixer : kitchenaid style
Autolyse about 1 - 1.5 hours (F 100% + HR 55%)
(-> too dry, I was hard to get it back to higher hydration, next time add 59% HR)
adding the last 30% little by little at higher speed.

Around 20 hours CF (let's say one night)

Cutting into balls, one ball for teglia 1050g, one ball for pala 840g

After 30 min, put on the oiled baking pan.
Around 5H at RT then baking.

Result in pictures below...

The pala lacked baking time as the stone wasn't hot enough (I bake the teglia first and I added the stone after baking the teglia). I'm still a beginner, you can see the comb in the crust isn't steady.
The teglia is more flat...

But I didn't resolve my problem with the spiral mixer (post here), if anyone can have a look...

Cheers
“Learn the rules like a pro so you can break them like an artist” - Pablo Picasso

Offline pete zappie

Re: Pizza pala/in teglia : same dough 2 different results
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2017, 10:28:30 AM »
thank you for your work on this style
still can’t get the super light crunch yet
it’s technique and mine needs more attention

Offline Yael

• French Pizza !
    • my Wechat page
« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2017, 11:45:20 PM »
Hi Pete,

Thank you for your comment. I need to improve a lot too...
About yours, the crust seems to be quite good, but it seems like you didn't par-bake, it seems that you put all the topping at once, the result is that all those ingredients are heavy and will press the dough. If so, you can try par-bake next time, just the dough of you can add the sauce. Bake 6 to 9 minutes, depending on your oven, then the second baking 5 min should be ok.