A D V E R T I S E M E N T

Author Topic: difference between CF+RT, RT+CF and RT only  (Read 499 times)

Offline sallam

difference between CF+RT, RT+CF and RT only
« on: February 16, 2018, 10:05:30 PM »
Greetings

When using a sourdough starter, some people retard their pizza dough bulk first then RT, others RT first then CF, and others ferment in RT all the way. I would like to know from those who tried some or all of those methods: what are the differences.. what are the advantages of each method?

I'm a home baker.

Offline bradtri

Re: difference between CF+RT, RT+CF and RT only
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2018, 11:50:59 AM »
I asked this question to Joe Black and this was his reply:

Joe Black: So you understand the concept, Bill. Now multiply that by infinity, take that to the depths of forever, and you still barely have a glimpse of what I'm taking about.
A Taste of Naples Pizza
www.atasteofnaplespizza.com
https://www.facebook.com/ATasteofNaplesPizza/
"Let Us Bring A Taste of Naples To Your Next Party"

Offline TXCraig1

• Supporting Member
  • Pizza is not bread.
    • Craig's Neapolitan Garage
« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2018, 02:02:18 PM »
what are the advantages of each method?

Amazingly, the answer is the same for all of them:

- retard their pizza dough bulk first then RT, others -> depends on who you ask.
- RT first then CF -> depends on who you ask.
- ferment in RT all the way -> depends on who you ask.
"We make great pizza, with sourdough when we can, baker's yeast when we must, but always great pizza."  
Craig's Neapolitan Garage

Offline ct4640

« Reply #3 on: March 31, 2018, 12:35:16 AM »
how about what rt and cf mean in the first place lol. ???  i have seen those  abbreviations used in some threads and i looked in the pizza  glossary but haven't found out what it means. i've been reading up on trying Detroit style but no luck so far in trying to decipher the code. thx for any help

Offline vtsteve

• Supporting Member