A D V E R T I S E M E N T

Author Topic: Recipe for small batch 8 inch pizzas  (Read 755 times)

Offline PizzAmateur

• There is nothing wrong with pizza 3 times a day.
Recipe for small batch 8 inch pizzas
« on: March 14, 2019, 12:16:38 AM »
What I am looking for is a recipe for a very small batch of dough for American/Papa John's style pizza.

My usual pizza is 8 to 9 inches and sometimes 10.  That's just about all I can eat at one time.  I don't like cold pizza and don't like to reheat slices.  So, I make small, "personal sized", pizzas.

My usual dough ball is anywhere from 100 to 120 grams, so the middle is relatively thin, but I like a big puffy cornice.

I am no good with the tools available here, so I am hopeful that someone could "scale" a recipe down for me.

I used to make enough dough for 6 to 8 balls, but now I think 3 or 4 balls is about all I can use in a reasonable time frame.

Suggestions for CF or RTF are both welcome.

As my handle suggests, I am an amateur pizza maker.  My home oven (old, OLD, Harvest Gold color home oven, so late 1960's - early 1980's) *can* reach 550F, but I usually start cooking as soon as it is preheated.

I do use a stone, which is now in the cleaning cycle because I let my dough rest too long after shaping and topping and, although it was sliding just seconds before launch... it stuck and tore a large hole right in the middle as I launched it onto the stone leaving sauce, cheese and topping to stick to it.  (heavy sigh...)

And THAT would not have bothered me so much, but I had JUST finished a cleaning cycle and the stone was immaculate! (Heavier sigh)

The pizza actually turned out OK, except for the big hole... (smile)

Sorry there are no pictures...  I don't own a good digital camera and my cellphone camera sucks.