A D V E R T I S E M E N T

Author Topic: Waring WPO500 Electric oven - thoughts?  (Read 674 times)

Offline Nwin

• I Love Pizza!
Waring WPO500 Electric oven - thoughts?
« on: May 12, 2020, 02:53:04 PM »
This would be for home use and NY pies. Thoughts? I like how it can go up to 18"

https://www.webstaurantstore.com/waring-wpo500-single-deck-countertop-pizza-oven-120v/929WPO500.html
Nick

Offline Little bean

• Pizzeria DiLauro
    • Pizzeria DiLauro
Re: Waring WPO500 Electric oven - thoughts?
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2020, 03:16:13 PM »
This would be for home use and NY pies. Thoughts? I like how it can go up to 18"

https://www.webstaurantstore.com/waring-wpo500-single-deck-countertop-pizza-oven-120v/929WPO500.html

I hate this oven, very unbalanced heat.

Offline Pizza_Not_War

« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2020, 03:57:43 PM »
It seems like people who were into this oven have been more focused on the Breville oven now. I think the Breville is more flexible. I have no personal experience with either.

Offline champignon

• I Love Pizza!
« Reply #3 on: May 12, 2020, 05:59:02 PM »

It's a great oven, although being 110v. is not practical for real commercial use except maybe in a low throughput environment.  It is also rather heavy and takes up a lot of space.  If you replace the stone with a cordierite kiln shelf (I'd go with 3/4" thickness, like $35 from a potter store), it is even better.  Do not understand the comment on temperature variation; of course there is temperature variation in the cooking chamber, that is true of every oven and that is why you need to turn your pizza as it bakes, at least once, probably more like twice.  It's an analogue oven which has a huge advantage over the Breville; it doesn't have a brainboard to go out on you which will turn that pricey oven into a boat anchor at some point.  It also has a much larger baking chamber and can accomodate an 18" pizza if you so desire.