A D V E R T I S E M E N T

Author Topic: bulk retard vs ball retard  (Read 878 times)

Offline sallam

bulk retard vs ball retard
« on: June 28, 2019, 06:08:09 PM »
Greetins

Is there a big difference between retarding pizza dough in bulk then S&F, divide and shape the next day, and between retarding shaped loaves ?

I'm asking because I don't have enough home fridge space, so I thought why not mix then bulk retard, and the next day I S&F , bulk ferment in RT then shape and proof in trays?

What are the differences in terms of taste profile and oven rise ? Why do pizza chains retard balls not bulk ?
I'm a home baker.

Offline The Dough Doctor

• Tom Lehmann
  • Lifetime Member
    • Dough Doctor
Re: bulk retard vs ball retard
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2019, 06:57:01 PM »
We just recently quite a bit of discussion on this very topic, if you check back a week or two you should be able to find it.
Pizzerias (box chains) use a refrigerated dough ball method of dough management because it allows them to use the dough over a several day period and it provides much better consistency than and of the room temperature/ambient fermented doughs. As a home pizza maker you will most likely be using all of the dough that you make at one time so room temperature/ambient temperature dough management is a viable way to manage the dough, however you will need to modify the dough formula by using less yeast and paying special attention to the finished dough temperature (70 to 75F) failure to do so can end up resulting in over fermented dough. Oven spring will be about the same for both methods of dough management, as for flavor, it's hard to describe as it's pretty subtle, but room temperature/ambient fermentation provides a finished flavor similar to that of white pan bread (U.S. and U.K.) while cold fermentation provides a more complex flavor without the acidity common to crusts made from temperature/ambient temperature managed doughs.
Tom Lehmann/The Dough Doctor

Offline sallam